Best Associate Editor Award: Gerald Friedland    
Presented by Prof. Ralf Steinmetz

Volunteer Recognition
Web development: Liang Shuai    Zichun Zhong     
Presented by Prof. K. Selcuk Candan

Hive development: Xilun Chen    Jung Hyun Kim    
Presented by Prof. Prabhakaran Balakrishnan

Local arrangements:
Volunteer Core Team Members: Shayok Chakraborty, Michael Astrauskas, Eric Luster, Mithila Nagendra, Archana Paladugu, Hemanth Venkateswara, Qiang Zhang

Best Volunteer Leader: Troy McDaniel             
Presented by Prof. Baoxin Li

Doctoral Symposium Award
Best Doctoral Symposium Paper: Ivan Anselmo Sipiran Mendoza, “Local Features for Partial Shape Matching and Retrieval”
Presented by Drs. Yu-Ru Lin and Vincent Oria

OSSC Awards
Best Open Source Software Competition Awards
Winner: J. Hare, S. Samangooei, D. Dupplaw, “OpenIMAJ and ImageTerrier: Java Libraries and Tools for Scalable Multimedia Analysis and Indexing of Images”

Honorable Mention:
“ClassX – An Open Source Interactive Lecture Streaming System”
“Opencast Matterhorn 1.1: Reaching New Heights”
Presented by Profs. Pablo Cesar and Wei Tsang Ooi

Multimedia Grand Challenge Winners
1st Prize:
"Photo Search by Face Positions and Facial Attributes on Touch Devices"
Yu-Heng Lei, Yan-Ying Chen, Lime Iida, Bor-Chun Chen, Hsiao-Hang Su, Winston H. Hsu
National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan

2nd Prize:
"Towards Textually Describing Complex Video Contents with Audio-Visual Concept Classifiers"
Chun Chet Tan, Yu-Gang Jiang, Chong-Wah Ngo
Dept of Computer Science, City University of Hong Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong
School of Computer Science, Fudan University, Shanghai, China

Special Prize on the Best Application of a Theoretical Framework:
"Understanding Images with Natural Sentences"
Yoshitaka Ushiku, Tatsuya Harada, Yasuo Kuniyoshi
The University of Tokyo / JST PRESTO

Special Prize on the Best Integration of Multimedia Media:
"News Browsing System: Multimodal Analysis"
Bruno do Nascimento Teixeira, Julia Epischina Engracia de Oliveira, Fillipe Dias Moreira de Souza, Tiago Oliveira Cunha, Igor Calil Loures de Oliveira, Chrisitane Okamoto, Lucas Figueiredo Goncalves, Vinicius de Oliveira Silva,  Arnaldo de Albuquerque Araujo
Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil

Social Media Award
Award given to the person who made the most interesting comments and who initiated the most interesting discussions on the Social Media Channels:
Dr. Sina Samangooei 
Presented by Profs. Laurent Amsaleg and Marcel Worring

MM’11 Travel Awardees
SIGMM Awardee     Stefan Romberg     University of Augsburg    
Google Awardee     Ivan Sipiran     University of Chile    
Qualcomm Awardee    Shenghua Zhong     Hong Kong Polytechnic University    
UTD Awardee     Song Tan         City University of Hong Kong    
ASU Awardee     Xirong Li         University of Amsterdam    
NSF Awardee     Zixia Huang     University of Ilinois at Urbana-Champaign    
NSF Awardee     Ahsan Arefin     University of Ilinois at Urbana-Champaign    
NSF Awardee     Xiaodong Yang     City College of New York    
NSF Awardee     Shu Shi         University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign    
NSF Awardee     Felix Yu         Columbia University    
NSF Awardee     Xia Li         University of Texas at San Antonio    
NSF Awardee     Neela Sawant     Pennsylvania State University    
NSF Awardee     Raoul Rivas     University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign    
NSF Awardee     Wanmin Wu     University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign    
NSF Awardee     Michele Merler     Columbia University    
NSF Awardee     Yao Liu         George Mason University    
NSF Awardee     Vivek Singh     University of California, Irvine    
NSF Awardee     Troy McDaniel     Arizona State University    
NSF Awardee     Richa Tiwari     University of Alabama at Birmingham    
NSF Awardee     Wei-Bang Chen     University of Alabama at Birmingham

Best Paper Award
F. Yu, R. Ji, S. Chang: “Active Query Sensing for Mobile Location Search”
Presented by Profs. Wu-Chi Feng, Nicu Sebe, Hari Sundaram

Best Student Paper Award
W. Wu, A. Arefin, G. Kurillo, B. Agarwal, K. Nahrstedt, R. Bajcsy: “Color-plus-Depth Level-of-Details in 3D Teleimmersive Video – A Psychophysical Approach”
R. Garg, A. Varma,M. Wu: ”Seeing” ENF: Natural Time Stamp for Digital Video via Optical Sensing and Signal Processing
Presented by Profs. Wu-Chi Feng, Nicu Sebe, Hari Sundaram

Best Technical Demo
David S Monaghan, Dublin City University, James O'Sullivan, Dublin City University, Noel O'Connor, Dublin City University: "Low-cost Creation of a 3D Interactive Museum Exhibition"


ACM Multimedia 2011

Nov 28th - Dec 1st, 2011 Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

Back To Top